top of page

15 MEAC Football Players on Black College Player of the Year Watch List

ATLANTA, Ga.--The Black College Football Hall of Fame released its 2019 Watch List for the Black College Football Player of the Year Award on Tuesday, and 15 of those players are from the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC). Bethune-Cookman and Howard each led the way with four players apiece. Defending MEAC champion North Carolina A&T State and Morgan State each had two players make the list. Here is a list of MEAC players on the Watch List, by school: Bethune-Cookman Marques Ford, DL Marquis Hendrix, LB Trevor Merritt, DB Jimmie Robinson, WR/KR Delaware State Brian Cavicante, LB Florida A&M Xavier Smith, WR Howard Kyle Anthony, WR Jequez Ezzard, WR Caylin Newton, QB Dedrick Parson, RB Morgan State Rico Kennedy, LB Ian McBurrough, LB North Carolina A&T State Elijah Bell, WR Mac McCain III, DB North Carolina Central Isaiah Totten, RB Click here to view the full Watch List.

The winner of the 2019 Black College Football Player of the Year Award will be honored with the Deacon Jones Trophy during the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which takes place on Feb. 15, 2020 in Atlanta. Four finalists will be unveiled on Dec. 3, 2019.

“There are many gifted football players competing at Historically Black Colleges and Universities right now,” Super Bowl XXII MVP and BCFHOF co-founder Doug Williams said. “This Award is a way for the Black College Football Hall of Fame to recognize these talented student-athletes.”

“The Deacon Jones Trophy is the most coveted individual award a football player from an HBCU can receive,” BCFHOF co-founder and 2012 inductee James Harris said. “I enjoy monitoring the progress of these young men throughout the season.”

Featured Posts

bottom of page